Feeling a Little Pissy

October 23, 2008

Some days a guy can’t help it: He has to talk about urine.

Whoa! Hey! Where is everybody going? …all right, I understand, see you tomorrow.

I don’t want to dive into this particular subject, you understand, but discussing Sonny honestly means talking every once in a while about potty training. Which right now is taking giant steps backwards every single day. Which leads me to pose a question to the five of you still reading this:

WHAT THE HECK IS GOING ON? HUH? I mean, one of the most basic assumptions I’ve been running with here is that while it might be really hard to teach Sonny a particular skill, once he knows that skill, he’s not going to wake up one day and forget it. And a month ago, Sonny was potty trained. Yes, yes, he still had to wear a diaper at night, and to assure that diaper stayed dry, I had to wake him up in the middle of the night and drag him out of his bed, and get him into the bathroom. But with this system, we went WEEKS without an accident.

Weeks! We could see, right up ahead, the door marked POTTY TRAINING COMPLETE — a door, I might say, that few Fragile X parents reach this soon, or so I gather from reading various FX message boards. But we were there, preparing to knock and jiggle the doorknob. Why, we’re probably the most successful Fragile X parents in the world! We would have to write a book and share our wisdom and collect great big royalty checks!

That was then. Now I can’t remember the last time he’s had a dry overnight diaper, and it’s been two weeks easy since we’ve gotten through the day without an accident. I am left baffled and a little bit angry by what is going on. He can either control his bladder or he can’t. Right? And we know he can, because he spent a heck of a long time doing exactly that. So if he can control himself… is he doing this on purpose? He sure doesn’t act like someone who’s doing it on purpose. He gets very sad, and berates himself for a while.

I’m at a total loss on how to react when this happens. I have enough control over my emotions that I can choose a particular response, except I don’t know which one to pick. Anger? To show him this is bad? Complete neutrality, like I don’t care? My natural state, during these incidents, is mostly bewilderment, so that’s pretty much what Sonny gets. Are we going to have to let him run around naked again, sitting on a towel in the living room, watching him like a hawk for any signs of, um, precipitation? We did that for a long, long, long time — it’s how we got Sonny where he is today. Or where he was, anyway, until recently.

I’m hoping the upcoming change in medication will have an impact on this. Heaven knows our brilliant “parenting” isn’t doing much of anything.

On the other hand, looking on the bright side of things, we are not yet at the point that I have to write a blog post entitled “Feeling a Little Crappy.”

4 Responses to “Feeling a Little Pissy”

  1. FXSmom Says:

    I hear about this happening with med changes a lot. I’m not sure though since Matty isn’t medicated and at 12 we still aren’t 100% potty trained. But I do hope you never have to write about feeling crappy ;-)

  2. AmesGames Says:

    Kids without Fragile X backslide too–just about all of them, I think. They potty train sooner so they revert sooner, but then they figure it out again, and usually faster than the first time. Hopefully Sonny will do the same.

  3. erika Says:

    Punkin is only three and we’ve already moved backwards twice. It is extremely frustrating. But I think the more neutral you can be, the better. I really do wonder if it is part of the med changes. Maybe he’s more hyperaroused than he was before and therefore is recognizing the comparatively subtle need to pee? WHen you figure it out, give me some of your magic. =)

  4. Paula Says:

    I don’t know about the meds changing potty progress, but I sure don’t doubt it. I potty trained 2 FX boys…one 5.5 now and one 11.5…neither one got it before age 4…and the younger one took 2 steps back every 2 weeks or so between age 4 and 5…but it will get better….I promise…it’s almost like it requires a slight regression in this particular skill to get to the door whose knob you talked about jiggling…you’ll be knocking soon.
    Certainly not feeling well will always mean some type of regression.

    One thing that helped my younger one was NO DRINKING after 6pm…and that was HARD…but after a couple weeks of that, he no longer wet his pull up OR needed to get up to go potty in the middle of the night.

    Good Luck!


Leave a Reply

