Your Fury Makes Me Smile

August 19, 2009

We’ve been rather lax with the kids these past few weeks, actually letting them have a summer vacation instead of making them do schoolwork. This ended yesterday when I made Peanut sit and do a couple of pages out of her math workbook, and she was NOT HAPPY.

At one point she said, “I wish I was a dragon and I could breathe fire on you.”

Probably my reaction to this should have been something other than hysterical laughter. She was speaking, after all, about wishing she had the power to broil me until I was a pile of carbon ashes. But it was such an unexpected thing to hear, I lost it completely, and then she lost it completely, but in the other direction, and I had to send her to her room until the tears subsided. Yessir, I make sure my kids have a fond memory of me EVERY SINGLE DAY.

In other news, Sonny rode his bicycle by himself for a distance of three feet. It’s a start.

2 Responses to “Your Fury Makes Me Smile”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Go Sonny! I would have laughed at Peanut, too.

  2. Maddy Says:

    Visiting from sunny day. I also have the temptation to laugh when I should probably do something else.
    Cheers


Leave a Reply

